• Cartago

    The Religious Capital of Costa Rica


    Cartago used to be the capital of Costa Rica, and after the war of 1948 in Costa Rica, San Jose became the new capital of the country. It is now the religious capital of Costa Rica and the home of the Basilica de la Virgen de Los Ángeles. Among the attractions of Cartago downtown are the ruins, the Basilica and the Irazu National Park.

    Cartago is also the place were many religious festivities take place. One of the most colorful and not very known is the Cristo de las Cintas in Cot de Cartago. It happens every thursday of Holy Week.

    In the Province of Cartago there are many other nice things to visit. Some example are:


    Ujarras Ruins - Cartago
  • Irazu Volcano

    Three crater active volcano


    Cartago Province, where that capital of the country lied some time ago, has a lot to offer. Cartago City is the religious capital of Costa Rica, and there is La Basilica de La Virgen de los Angeles. Beside other nice places such as Ujarras Ruins, Orosi Church and Cachi Dam, the province has two active volcanoes: the Turrialba and de Irazu. Both are very different but because of its closeness they are also called the Twin Volcanoes.

    The area is great for hiking and mountain biking, but mostly it is a place where many tourists enjoy some unique views of active volcanoes. On the picture the two craters are shown; it was taken from Irazu Volcano National Park.

    Turrialba Town is also a great place to enjoy all kind of activities, especially those that have adventure written all over. Enjoy thermal waters, white water rafting, hiking, biking, bird watching, canopy, ATV, etc.


     Create your own trip by contacting us to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

    Irazu Volcano
    Irazu Volcano